"Game vs Blackmoor. I said you can’t combat squad from reserve. The judge said nothing when you said it. It’s in the NOVA FAQ. I *could* have raised a stink about it, but I was asked multiple times to *not* raise a stink, so I did not. Please note that since 2 units did this, that’s twice you did something you should not have. It’s my understanding that this happened repeatedly throughout the tournament. No, I am not mad at Blackmoor. I am pointing this out not for the internet to rage, but for Mike and his judges to see a point of failure–and hopefully for Blackmoor to read the tournament rules (or the GW FAQ that says you can’t, and yes, it’s a stupid rule but they wrote it so there it is)."
And to that I say...oops!!!
I thought that you combat squaded when you deployed, so when I got a unit out of reserve I just deployed it as a combat squad. Now after I look it up it says that you can't in the Space Marines FAQ (I don't play space marines so I have no idea what is in there) and also in the Nova Open's FAQ. I had no idea that is was in the Nova FAQ either because I never read it all the way through (I just thought is was filled with common sense stuff) and I just read the Grey Knight and General portion. In hindsight I should have read the whole thing.
To sum it up again, the rule that you can't combat squad from reserve is nowhere in any Grey Knight or General FAQ.
Now in my game with Stelek it was an advantage for him to have my Paladins in combat squads because then he only has to burn down 5 of them to knock them down to half victory points. If they were the full 10 man unit., he has to kill all 10 of them to have them stop being worth full points, and killing 10 of them in 2 turns is nearly impossible.
I wish he would have said something because I would not have combat squaded them and played the rule right. He says that he raised a stink, but I did not hear anything about it. I get rules wrong all of the time, so that is why I generally go with what ever my opponent's interpretation of the rules are. In my game with Tony you can see that in action. I challenged him in Njal's power and I took his word for it. When he questioned the aegis working with the psychic hood I looked it up to be sure.
And there was some question of my use of Psychic Communion...
I started Draigo on the board for the sole reason of casting Psychic Communion. Again, I rolled a "3"
for the Paladins on turn #2 and had them wait and I had the rest of my army try to stay off, but I still got on the interceptors and a dreadnaught. On turn #3 I used Psychic Communion again and I rolled a "1" for the Paladins to come on from reserve and even with the +1 they did not come on. On turn #4 I did not cast if because I need anything but a "1" to come on and that is what I rolled, I do not think that I can add +1 to that because I think that a roll of a "1" is always a failure, but I might be wrong.